Welcome

The Office of Indigent Defense Services, a division of the Department of Finance, in cooperation and consultation with other state agencies, professional associations and other groups interested in the administration of criminal justice and the improvement and expansion of defender services, provides financial services, guidance and statistical data to the judicial circuits of the State of Alabama.


The STAARS Vendor Self-Service (VSS) portal is now active and vendors are encouraged to register.  Please click here for more info.


On March 15, 2020, Governor Kay Ivey declared a State of Emergency for Alabama in response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. Pursuant to the declaration, the Office of Indigent Defense Services is adjusting staff scheduling to minimize person-to-person contact. Fee declarations will continue to be audited and processed with no anticipated interruption occurring in the audit process. During this time, the preferred method of communication is by email. The general office email address, oids@oids.alabama.gov, will continue to be monitored. However, you may email your needed party directly at the addresses listed below:


1. Chris E. Roberts – Division Director – christopher.roberts@oids.alabama.gov
2. John Morris – Senior Accountant - john.morris@oids.alabama.gov
3. Derek Johnston – Staff Accountant – derek.johnston@oids.alabama.gov
4. Deborah Fenn – Accountant – deborah.fenn@oids.alabama.gov
5. Edwina Straughn – Accountant – edwina.straughn@oids.alabama.gov
6. Judy Prater – Accounting Technician – judy.prater@oids.alabama.gov
7. Marcella Willis – Assistant to Director – marcella.willis@oids.alabama.gov